Karen Berisford

Newbiggin-by-the-sea, Northumberland

I am a professional artist & art Tutor, born and raised in Chesterfield, Derbyshire in the Midlands and now living in the small town of Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, in Northumberland with my partner and fellow artist John Graham. I have always had a passion for art. From a very early age I enjoyed creating pictures as most children do and one Christmas when I received a box of Caran Dache coloured pencils, I was hooked! Self-taught, my subject interests began with Birds having been a keen birdwatcher as a child and regularly visiting Clumber Park in Nottinghamshire. My art style always leaned towards realism, more a portrayal rather than photorealism. The need to add lots of detail is because I have always enjoyed the challenge. As art played such a huge part in my life, turning professional was always the aim, but the Internet was not commonplace when I first left school in 1990 and so I took myself off to college and trained as a Beauty Therapist before going into self employment for 5 years. I then went into ful time employment for 11 years in a department store mainly for the experience and learnt a lot from this but it was the death of my Mum in 2010 from Bowel Cancer that made me take that leap of faith finally into my dream business.