Martin Sloman

Belper, Derbyshire

My name is Martin Sloman and I'm now a full time watercolour artist/tutor. I loved art at school and was always top or close to the top of the class. I left school at 15 and went to work for an optician, as a trainee optical technician and was taught how to dispense spectacles. After about 16 years I joined a manufacturing optician as manager this lasted until January 2013.During my years there I travelled all over the UK including Northern Ireland to build up a customer base. In later years I helped to set up and manage two optical practices. I didn't paint again until I had a dabble with oils in the mid-70s, there were some passable results until my brother and I took up golf, that took up most of my spare time until my wife Barbara's road accident in June 2000. When she first came out of hospital I had to be at home to look after her. She suggested I take up art again to pass the time. I bought some watercolours and was hooked from the beginning.

I started doing very tight landscapes; gradually I've moved to slightly looser style using bold and vibrant colours with a little more spontaneity about it. I don't particularly work to any theme I just see things that excite me and make me want to paint them. I like to visit or see what I'm painting; I take lots of photographs and try to get a feel for the subject. Not just to glance at a subject or scene but to really look in depth at the hidden colours in the shadows, the patterns and in the shapes and of course contrasts between light and dark etc.